ABC article about shared path tensions

BrownBike
Location: Perth - Looking for a north-south route across the CBD

ABC article about shared path tensions

Postby BrownBike » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:42 pm

Sinner

Re: ABC article about shared path tensions

Postby Sinner » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:55 pm

Interesting comment about no speed limits!

I was told by Main Roads that the speed limit is the same as that across the road reserve, unless otherwise signed. Hence the PSP by the Mitchell Freeway is 100kph - go boys and girls!

worzel

Postby worzel » Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:21 pm

It's about the third article I have read in the last week decrying cyclists for not ringing a bell. To be fair I would have agreed until I started riding again 6 months ago after decades. I could not see how to comment otherwise I would have posted that "25% of the time it has the desired effect, 25% the pedestrian does not even hear due to being on a phone / having music on / gossiping, 25% the polite warning is met with a foul mouthed tirade and 25% the pedestrian jumps the other way into your path"

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Marmoset

Postby Marmoset » Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:20 pm

I'm in agreement with you there Worzel. The iPeds are the worst as you just can't tell if they've heard you or not. I just tend to slow down for everything now, which might be a struggle for some other peronality types.

casual_cyclist

Postby casual_cyclist » Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:59 pm

Marmoset wrote:I'm in agreement with you there Worzel. The iPeds are the worst as you just can't tell if they've heard you or not. I just tend to slow down for everything now, which might be a struggle for some other peronality types.
I assume people have not heard me and slow down to an appropriate speed. My view is that it is a shared path, so we should share it. That said, I don't take kindly to groups standing on the path, blocking both lanes, chatting.
<removed by request>

casual_cyclist