trike first impressions

zebee

trike first impressions

Postby zebee » Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:16 am

I have been riding recumbent 2 wheelers for over 10 years, today was my first ride on a trike that wasn't in a carpark or closed area, and for more than a few minutes.

I am providing shed room for a friend's Greenspeed GT3 before it is loaned to another friend so took the opportunity to have a go.

First thing I notice is it is hard to tell speed. I am much closer to the ground so feel faster and I really don't know if I am faster on 3 wheels than 2 or slower or what.

NExt thing is that I feel horribly invlsible at roundabouts! I live in a no-through-road with a roundabout at the entrance and I have had issues before on my 2 wheeler and even on my large touring motorcycle with the 2x60 watt running lights... But on the trike I felt not surprised that they might not see me. I think because they flick their eyes sideways and at their level, on a small roundabout I am relatively close to them and not in their main vision.

Heading up the road it felt easy to get moving and easy to keep moving. I very much noticed the lack of headrest I guess I have been spoiled by the very comfy cockpit of the Encore.

It belted up the short inclines with ease. I am in the top 3 or 4 gears so far with the large ring of the triple the same size or smaller than the mid ring of the Encore's triple and I'm mostly in the big ring on the Encore. I know that wheel size means different gear sizes but if it were mine I think I'd gear it up a bit.

The climb up to Liverpool Rd is way more pleasant than on the Encore. Same speed or slower I think but the not having to balance is a big plus. I can go slow if I want to and not get stressed about it.