Shimano XTR brakeline inserts and olives

open roader

Shimano XTR brakeline inserts and olives

Postby open roader » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:59 pm

Just a quicky - I'm a complete novice regarding the intricacies of the Shimano XTR component line up.

I have a set of current model M9000 XTR brakes (2nd hand) and am building up an internally routed MTB frame.

I have successfully routed the rear brake line through the frame and now need to re-fit an insert and olive to the end of the hose.

Does anyone know :-

1) what is a good tool to use to trim the end of the brake hose nice and square? (I don't own a pair of proper bicycle cable snips....)

and

2) Is the Shimano BH59-BH63 inset and olive combo compatible with current XTR brake levers? (coming from Campag. gruppo background I simply don't trust universality across different component levels :-)
3rd class cycling is always better than 1st class walking

MichaelB

Re: Shimano XTR brakeline inserts and olives

Postby MichaelB » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:41 pm

Really sharp knife if you don't want to buy the tool.

Shimano Techdocs are your friend. Look up the exploded views and check the part numbers. They are a great resource and easy to use.

open roader

Postby open roader » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:33 pm

MichaelB wrote:Really sharp knife if you don't want to buy the tool.

Shimano Techdocs are your friend. Look up the exploded views and check the part numbers. They are a great resource and easy to use.
Excellent - just worked it through Techdocs - I need the SM-BH90-SBM kit!

Cheers!

Duck!
Expert

Postby Duck! » Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:57 am