Why can't I sprint?

stevecassidy

Why can't I sprint?

Postby stevecassidy » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:19 pm

So I've been riding with a power meter for a couple of months now and finding it a really useful training tool. The most fascinating thing is seeing the difference between inside and outside - as noted by Alex on his blog I seem to be able to generate a lot more power outside - at least for short periods.

Last week I was looking at my power curve relative to the Andy Coggan table of typical values for different levels of rider. It was good to see that my FTP (3.2W/kg) and 5 minute power (3.77W/kg) put me nicely in the Fair to Moderate range which makes sense for me as a C grade hack. However, my 1 minute power is 5.7W/kg and 15s is 8.8W/kg - which are at or off the bottom of the chart in 'untrained' territory!

So there are a few possible explanations for this.

1. In the last months I might not have done any all out sprints, so the power is in there but I've not released it in any recent rides.

I certainly haven't done much sprinting as such but I've done plenty of punchy climbs where I have tried to put out as much as I can.

2. All my training has been for threshold endurance, there's been no specific sprint training.

I've been doing the Trainerroad Sweet Spot Base and General Build plans which concentrate on time at threshold and VO2Max, so far no short term sprint training. So in this scenario I just need to start some appropriate training efforts to release the short term power.

3. I'm physiologically incapable of sprinting.

This seems unlikely but since I've never been particularly good in a sprint, perhaps there's something lacking somewhere.