Bryton 310 Review

No guru

Bryton 310 Review

Postby No guru » Mon May 09, 2016 3:34 pm

I have been given the opportunity to provide a review of the Bryton 310. Some detail of my background is appropriate, I am a late convert to cycling and my occupation results in me being a numbers man. I like to have an understanding of what I am achieving. I also follow a training plan and ride about 250 to 300 kms per week. I have been using a Garmin 500 and then upgraded to a Garmin 510. I ride a Trek Domane with Durace Groupset and Garmin Vector Power meter Pedals.

The Bryton 310 is smaller than the Garmin 510 is easy to affix to the bike with the kit including enough elastic bands to ensure you can attach the base to your handlebars.

The setup was easy, the instructions that come with the Bryton are basic more detailed instructions are available on the web, but I found even the more detailed instructions wanting. The Bryton website has a FAQ page which I did not find at all useful. Despite this I was able to easily pair the Bryton to my Heart Rate Monitor, my power meter and my speed and cadence sensor. Although the Bryton was paired to my Cadence sensor it never actually recorded my cadence. This may be due to the Garmin Power Meter, as this also provides the sensor/data for the cadence rather than a separate magnet on the pedal arm or the lack of cadence data may be because I have a Duo Trap which works well with the Garmin 510. As speed can also be calculated by GPS rather than the speed sensor on the wheel I am not sure whether the Bryton was using GPS or the wheel to record speed.