How to lose those last few kgs?

Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.
zill

How to lose those last few kgs?

Postby zill » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:12 pm

I have been dieting and exercising for 8 months and have lost 33kg already so very happy. My BMI is 23.0 at the moment which is not bad but still heavy for road cycling. My body type is such that I won't achieve sub 20.0 BMI but want to drop the last 5 kg or so. I have cycled a lot so my legs are toned and arms and shoulders are thin enough. The only part where I can lose more kg is in the stomach region which seem to be still fatty and sometimes bloated (compared to pro cyclists).

Any advice on how to lose those last few kgs?

Farmer Elvis

Re: How to lose those last few kgs?

Postby Farmer Elvis » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:25 pm

Do something different, ie go for a run after a long ride. I was similar I'm 6'2" and got to 84kg wanted to get to sub 82 just couldn't do it with cycling and pretty good diet, no alcohol etc. started working on a rowing machine for 10 to 20mins after riding and it fell off

zill

Postby zill » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:35 am

Farmer Elvis wrote:Do something different, ie go for a run after a long ride. I was similar I'm 6'2" and got to 84kg wanted to get to sub 82 just couldn't do it with cycling and pretty good diet, no alcohol etc. started working on a rowing machine for 10 to 20mins after riding and it fell off
That is interesting but wouldn't rowing build upper body mass (e.g. muscles) hence make you gain more weight?

nailsaslegs

Postby nailsaslegs » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:57 am

Sounds ridiculous, but eat less. I have been on a diet since January when I want plateau I eat less for a couple of days instead of consuming 9000kjs I consume 5000 instead. I also use a tracker app on my phone which keeps me accountable.

Nobody

Postby Nobody » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:05 am