Do I use insurance?

Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.
Louie43

Do I use insurance?

Postby Louie43 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:55 pm

I have been cycling for a few years. Early in December I had my first major crash-aiming to get on a new path, not enough angle and feeling a bit dreamy I didn't make the path on my bike!
I must have closed my eyes hit the footpath, opened them to be still sliding on the new path.
Nothing really sore initially but did do my AC 1 joint(good bone density so no fractures)
What I am wondering is it worth claiming my expenses on BN Insurance or just wearing the costs?
Probably about $1000.
Insurance there to use but not to be abused-is this amount worth it?
Cheers
Louie43
PS yes I do have insurance but don't know BN excess
Last edited by Louie43 on Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Carrots

Re: Do I use insurance?

Postby Carrots » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Deleted. Irrelevant - I was talking physical goods damage, not medical costs! Sorry.

m@

Postby m@ » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:32 pm

Nasty; I've done the same - easy to do when if you hit the lip between the gutter and start of the ramp at a shallow angle.

TBH I'm a bit confused by the question though; if you have insurance, are covered and the claim amount is well over the excess, why wouldn't you use it? I guess you might calculate it's not worth your time to do the paperwork, but then you'd have to be on a higher hourly rate than me... not that hard :lol:

The only way to 'abuse' insurance is to commit insurance fraud IMO; insurers will look out for their own interests just fine, so there's no need to feel sorry for them when making a valid claim. That's what insurance is for; if they believed the amount to be trivial, they'd set a higher excess.
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe

moosterbounce

Postby moosterbounce » Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:37 pm