6 months of sore knees - Eureka?

Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.
tcdev

6 months of sore knees - Eureka?

Postby tcdev » Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:25 pm

I've been riding for just over 6 months now and it wasn't long after I began that I started to get sore knees. When it started to become debilitating I adjusted my seat height and it abated for some time, but slowly over the months the pain increased until it all came to a head last week and I was left crippled from pain in my right knee. Whilst I seldom feel the pain during an actual ride, it's apparent during day-to-day activities, most noticeable when squatting. Last week I couldn't get into my car without actually grimacing in pain, and for 2-3 days I was walking with a significant limp. I knew I had to so something. Next step was a proper bike fit.

Of course I was out of the saddle until I could walk again, more-or-less pain free. Fortunately that only took about a week. During that time I read the article on knee pain by Steve Hogg which someone on this site - and apologies for losing the reference - linked to. Of course there being 102 different causes of knee pain I wasn't exactly sure of my particular issue(s), but it at least gave me some ideas.