Food/Drink and Cramping

Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.
Mark0

Food/Drink and Cramping

Postby Mark0 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 11:01 am

I have a few questions I am new to Cycling and have been riding about 26ks in an hour every few days, today i did 30k in about 1.10 for the first time, I have a few hills at the start and end of my ride other then that not to bad.

Questions are:
1 - What do you guys eat or drink before your ride in the morning, currently I eat nothing and drink a cup of water and leave for my ride, I take a water bottle on the bike also, do many of you ensure you eat before you go ? I am just currently eating when I get back.
I do have to watch my carb intake so no large quantities of that before or after a ride.

2 - A few times now as i get past half way probably 3/4 into my ride i feel my calves I dont have a cramp but I know if I pushed as hard as I could say up a hill or sprinting i will get a cramp, do you guys find this goes away the more you ride, physically I am ok at that point just calves.
I do often have a similar problem when soccer season starts each year first 2-3 games I cramp up at 60 minute mark, but then as training and season really gets into the swing they go away, I am expecting cycling is the same.

Thanks

g-boaf

Re: Food/Drink and Cramping

Postby g-boaf » Thu Nov 03, 2016 11:23 am

If I know I'm doing 40-50km and will get something to eat at that point, then I won't eat before the ride - just have a coffee because I'm addicted to coffee.

I fill up a bidon with water and two scoops of Skratch Labs or Torq powder and that generally gets me through 130km on a moderately warm day, and I might eat a sandwich during the ride, or if I'm not stopping, a couple of Clif Bars.

If it is really hot 35°C or more, then I make provisions to drink more. (powder in a second bidon, refill the first bidon as needed).