help! Need to buy a road/ hybrid bike in melbs - a newbie

newbikermelbs

help! Need to buy a road/ hybrid bike in melbs - a newbie

Postby newbikermelbs » Fri Feb 20, 2015 1:59 pm

Hi all!

This is my first post and I am a total newbie. I would like to buy a road/ hybrid bike. I plan to ride on roads mostly and the purpose is to get fit. I am willing to spend about $1000 for the bike and $150-200 on the must have accessories.
- I was adviced that a hybrid with little suspensions would be more comfortable. Could someone validate that?
- What are the good brands I should be looking at for this budget please? I am only aware of Gaint (Liv) and the bike that fits the bill is Thrive 1. However - its out of stock in all the stores in Melbourne. It being out of stock - does this mean its time for newer models to be launched in which case - should I wait ? I would like to start riding early March.
- What are the features / specs I should be conscious of please?
- I am about 5ft 3, and the guy in the store adviced me to go for an extra small frame. I tried sitting on the bike and found it was ok. is this enough check or should I test ride it?
- What are the basic accessories I should be buying as I have nothing from before.

Please don't laugh! I have ridden gearless bikes a lot in the past (during my childhood) and should get used to the gears. Is it a big deal or do you feel I can get a hang of it ocne I start riding. I am watching videos and reading articles to understand the gear basics.

My humble apologies for this might be a repeat question. I could not find anything suiting upon searching, so posted it.

Appreciate your help!!

Lizzy

Re: help! Need to buy a road/ hybrid bike in melbs - a newbi

Postby Lizzy » Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:13 am

Hello & welcome :) (& if anyone laughs at you they're a butthead!)