New Commuter - Ebike advice before purchase.

Matt_D

New Commuter - Ebike advice before purchase.

Postby Matt_D » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:08 pm

Afternoon all,

After a few years of recreational riding, I've started commuting daily to Brisbane CBD for work (~10ks each way). 90% dedicated bike paths and nothing really too challenging, but there's about 5 hills that makes me think about a more enjoyable commute on an Ebike.

I've spent 2 weeks researching, visited 3 bike shops, and test ridden at least 6 models of electric bike and thought I would share my findings. I am new to daily commuting to work and transitioning from my Norco flat T-bar road hybrid bike (non-electric). I have been loving the ride to/from work but I have a few hills that put a dampener on my enjoyment of daily cycling (not to mention getting overtaken continuously by the lycra crew and more fit commuters than I!).

So here are my final two favourites:

1. Merida e-Spresso SPORT 410

http://www.99bikes.com.au/bikes-2017-bi ... -red-black

*36v / Bosch Performance Line (60Nm max torque) / 400Wh batt - Mid drive, more commuter style than EMTB. Motor ltd to 25km/h.

-----------------------------
2. Earth T-Rex 48v 29 Speed EMTB

https://electricbikesbrisbane.com.au/co ... 29-sp-emtb

*48v / 500w motor / ~700Wh batt - Rear hub driven fast EMTB (off road ONLY / not street legal). Very popular (the shop had 2 waiting to be picked up and a new shipment coming this week). I could only test ride it's little 36v brother but it still felt like an amazing ride. Top assisted speed - 35-40km/h :twisted: .

---------------------