GPS Tracker / EPIRB options?

dalai47

Postby dalai47 » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:03 pm

I've spent many trips in the bush solo over the years and have never been concerned; other than leaving a rough itinerary on the kitchen bench at home. But given the recent passing of a local MTBer riding in the near by hills, I am considering options for future trips and therefore looking to purchase something like a Spot.

I'm very new to these devices, so keen to hear what others have used and opinions...

sogood

Re: GPS Tracker / EPIRB options?

Postby sogood » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:22 am

InReach is better and so is Yellowbrick. It's all about the constellation of satellites they use. If you are within mobile coverage, you can use apps with such function, or even Apples Find My Friend. BTW, it's PLB for us. EPIRB is for water application. The smallest PLB at present is OceanSignal's PLB1 RescueMe.
Bianchi, Ridley, Tern, Montague and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.

Warin

Postby Warin » Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:13 am

EPIRB/PLB
  • Requires activation - so you need to be conscious to activate the signal for help.
    Has no no going fees, but you do need to have some contactable friends that have your travel plans to hand. And you need to supply the list of friends and their contact details to the EPIRB/PLB monitors.
Other
  • If you think that you may be 'knocked out' and unable to activate a help signal then you need something else - either tracking or a system that senses your 'problem' (by shock detection or failure to move or both?) and automatically activates.
    Probably a subscription service - fees to be paid
    Possibly gives a web based track that people can look at
The details will depend on who you select and possibly what level of service you select. SPOT is popular amongst Americans .. and looks to work here. I've seen reports of it working here in emergency situations.