Starter bike for commuting?

Lalabanana

Starter bike for commuting?

Postby Lalabanana » Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:58 pm

Hi all

Newbie here!! Sorry for the long first post!

I have been wanting to start cycling for a while for a bit of exercise (i used to bike everywhere when i was young).

I am now basically in a position where I am forced to (sent my car for repairs when it crapped out, and its still in the shop after somehow being made worse than it was when I dropped it off).

Rather than buy another car, ive decided now is the time to get biking and finally stop thinking about it.

Ill be biking to and from work from Toowong to Eagle Farm which I believe is about 14 ks

Im pretty unfit (played indoor netball for two and a half seasons but stopped in March and pretty sure I am less fit than I was when I started playing netball) so will just be starting out an as a result, I dont want to go out spending thousands in case I really hate commuting to work via bike, and end up with an expensive bike just decorating the garage (i actually enjoy biking though, especially with my dogs but havent done it in ages as I dont have a bike now, so think ill be fine, but just in case).

So, my question is, where can I find a reasonably cheap bike that wont cost me a leg, and what kind of bike do I need or things should I be looking for?

Can I just go to target and pick up a cheapy with the intention of upgrading if and when I decide I like it (my partner suggested i buy a second hand real bike, but these dont seem that cheap either and i dont really know what type of bike is best, i was looking at a mountain bike lolol)

Also, does anyone know if i can cycle along the river walk all the way from Toowong to Eagle Farm?

Any and all advice appreciated. Thanks in advance

rangersac

Re: Starter bike for commuting?

Postby rangersac » Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:25 am