Road Bikes around $10K

reflex101

Road Bikes around $10K

Postby reflex101 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:02 pm

Hello all,

I have been a lurker around here for a while and am now considering buying a new bike to replace old faithful...

I am an avid cyclist, I don't race. Instead I prefer either solo or bunch rides 70km to 100km. I have been cycling since 2006 when I purchased my first proper road bike - an ORBEA Onyx fitted with dura ace gear (Old Faithful). It's done about 34000 and I absolutely love it but it is now time for a new bike. At the time this was the best I could afford and now I am fortunate enough to be able to afford a good bike again.

What ever I end up buying at this level will be far better than my skill set needs but that is not the driving factor here. I enjoy riding and I want to enjoy the bike that I ride. And what ever I buy will be used for a few years, same as the ORBEA.

I have a budget of around 10K and keep looking at the S Works Tarmac 2015. After reading what I could see on the forums and else where on the net it seems that opinions do vary a lot but a few brands get mentioned a lot. Colnago, Pinarrello, BMC and Look spring to mind right now.

I like to look after my stuff so I service the bike myself and have all the tools, so Dura ace is my preferred brand of running gear since I know it well.

I am 167.5 cm tall
weigh 83kg (real climber LOL)

So in no special order I want a bike that;
looks good
is technically good
Uses the best or close to materials
Dura ace equipped
Will last 5 or 6 years

My question to anyone that would like to respond is What would you do in my situation - which brand would you consider and why?

Thank you.

crog

Re: Road Bikes around $10K

Postby crog » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:07 pm

Baum Custom Titanium

http://baumcycles.com/

my dream bike one day.

mitchy_

Postby mitchy_ » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:22 pm

purely subjective, but the new Dogma F8 looks amazing in my books.

rodneycc