Looking for a beginner All Mountain, Hardtail Mountain Bike

Lachiepower0402

Looking for a beginner All Mountain, Hardtail Mountain Bike

Postby Lachiepower0402 » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:41 pm

So I am a beginner at mountain biking, I own a sort of mountain bike, a Repco piece of !! BAN ME NOW FOR SWEARING !!, which isn't a mountain bike. I will going in the Husky100, I am doing the 20km ride in December. So I will be wanting a All Mountain style of mountain bike, hard tail, 29 inch wheels and definitely disc brakes.

I was considering brands such as: Santa Cruz, Specialized.

Another point I want to make is that I don't want a bike that has Suntour parts as they are not the best parts, I would want a good fork e.g. Fox or Rockshox and good gears e.g. Shimano. Also good disc brakes e.g. Shimano.

Bikes I was thinking of are:

http://www.santacruzbicycles.com/en/au/highball" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; (Base model)

What bikes would you recommend and how much should I spend?
Regards,

Lachlan

Ross

Re: Looking for a beginner All Mountain, Hardtail Mountain B

Postby Ross » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:56 pm

I rrecently bought a Giant XTC 29er which is pretty good value for the money. Especially with $600 discount! :lol:

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-au/bik ... 916/66499/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Lachiepower0402

Postby Lachiepower0402 » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:59 pm

That bike looks pretty good and it has good parts. How did you get a $600 discount on it, because I would not be able to afford that bike at the original price.
Regards,

Lachlan

Ross

Postby Ross » Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:33 pm

The new models are out now/out soon so LBS was having a runout sale

Lachiepower0402

Postby Lachiepower0402 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 2:00 pm

So the 2015 model will be coming into stock, so the 2014 model will be the discounted one. Do all bike shops have this sale?
Regards,

Lachlan

Lachiepower0402

Postby Lachiepower0402 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:00 pm