Looking for a durable puncture resistant tyre. Gatorskins?

CyclingMitch

Looking for a durable puncture resistant tyre. Gatorskins?

Postby CyclingMitch » Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:57 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new to cycling, currently riding a Reid Osprey (2014).
In the last two rides I've had two punctures using the stock tyres.
Fed up with flats, i'm in search of a new more reliable tyre. Looking around online, it seems gatorskin are a popular choice. Does anyone have any experience with these?
As I said I'm new to cycling, so I'm looking for something reliable more than something super slick and fast. At this point it's more about keeping my cycling interest alive as opposed to increasing my performance.
I mainly ride on bike paths, however one strip of chip seal road is causing me all kinds of dramas, which i'm hoping to put an end to with this purchase.

timbo

Re: Looking for a durable puncture resistant tyre. Gatorskin

Postby timbo » Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:23 am

Ask 10 people for their recommendation for a tyre, and you will probably get ten different answers.
What one person swears by, another person will swear at.
Having said that, a more puncture resistant tyre will have a kevlar belt built into it, providing more (but not complete) protection, so this is something you should be looking for.
Does the Osprey come with 700x23 tyres? If so, perhaps look at a 700x25 tyre instead, if it will fit. (Perhaps a phone call to Reid will answer that question) It is a slightly wider tyre, and it has just a little bit more give in the tyre, and run to recommended air pressures, not over pressure.
I have run Gatorskins on my bike in the past without problems, so it gets my tick.

CyclingMitch

Postby CyclingMitch » Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:29 am

Thanks for the reply timbo.
The Osprey does come with the 700x23 tyres, I'll have to do some research as to whether the 25s will fit.
Is there any downside to running the 25 over the 23?
I've seen a few posts saying the 25s are faster?