New vs used internal hub?

zanny

New vs used internal hub?

Postby zanny » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:34 pm

Hi, I am a newbie to maintaining bikes and have a Giant Innova 2006ish hybrid bike which I converted with some help to an e-bike with a Bafang Mid-drive kit. It's doing the job, just clocked 700km (mostly on cold Melbourne nights) and am getting exercise along with the nice electric boost.

I have upgraded the seat and handlebars but now I want to improve the gears which are currently 9 speed Shimano Deore (DX?) because they are clunky, and need a good cleaning, but also I have been shifting under load as this is my first ebike and I have not been so kind to the bike. The cassette and derailleur will have to be replaced before the end of the year anyway.

My biggest issue is that when cruising on the ebike in a high gear, when I have to stop, it is really slow to push off again. With an IGH, I wouldn't have this issue. Secondly, I want a smoother ride.

My options are kind of expensive -
1) Upgrade to a clutched derailleur Shimano M786+ which would require everything else being 10 speed as well - new hub, new cassette, new shifters, new chain - $250

(and while this would make gear changing smoother, it doesn't solve my main issue)

2) Shimano hub about $275 from LBS or Nuvinci N360 - $400+ on ebay and then I get no service/warranty. Can't find anyone in Melbourne who sells these for existing bikes.

So I saw an old Giant on eBay which comes with an old Nexus 7 internal hub in a 700c wheel. It might even be the same tyre, as they look like Maxxis Overdrive, and I have that tyre in a 40c.

The bike is at least 5 years old and I doubt the hub has been serviced, it also hasn't been ridden recently.

Is this a good option for me, buy this bike for under $100, and use the wheel?

MattyK

Re: New vs used internal hub?

Postby MattyK » Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:41 am

I assume your electric drive is front wheel?