Strategy for buying a Hybrid under $400?

nasher21

Strategy for buying a Hybrid under $400?

Postby nasher21 » Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:39 pm

Hi everyone, apologies if this has already been covered but I'm looking to get a hybrid push bike for commuting and the odd leisure ride that might include a few hills here and there. The last time I bought a bike was a mountain bike I got second hand over 15 years ago so I'm pretty new to all this. Not looking for a world beater but just a nice standard, reliable bike that will do the job and hold up well.

I'd ideally like to spend $300, $400 being the absolute upper limit. I'm a 6 foot male about 90kg. I've done a bit of research and seen mostly good things on the Reid Condor or Reid Bikes in general. I am really tempted to just get the Reid Condor flat bar road bike for $300 but although the mostly good reviews I've seen the odd comment on the net saying they don't like the build quality and chains throw on hills etc. Would this bike or another Reid be a safe bet or are there possibly some other brands I could look at?

The other thing is the second hand factor. Are there any brands that are worth looking at here? For $300 is there a chance of getting a steal? Would appreciate any advice.

Trevtassie

Re: Strategy for buying a Hybrid under $400?

Postby Trevtassie » Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:02 pm

Well you could keep an eye out on rubbish collection days. I just picked up a hybrid that was basically perfect except for the spokes. The manufacturer obviously decided to save some money by using some cheap crappy chromed spokes. They had rusted through where it appears some inclusions were left in the spoke wire when it was drawn. Really weird as the rest of it wasn't too bad. So new spokes and some oil and it's ready roll.
If you aren't a seagull like me, try Gumtree, there are always bargains on there!

carcharias

Postby carcharias » Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:08 am

These look ok, one is more a flat-bar commuter though...