Reid falco elite vs giant defy 4

jamesd

Reid falco elite vs giant defy 4

Postby jamesd » Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:18 am

Guys I'm new to road biking, I have $800 I'm tossing up between the reid falco elite or defy 4 i love the way the defy rides and looks and it has opinions for racks and fenders..... but the falco has full 105 groupset its also nice to ride but im unsure of the quality! What would you do? Im leaning towards the defy only because giant is well regarded especially the defy and if seen mosty good reviews..... can't find many reviews on the falco....... help

jerrah

Re: Reid falco elite vs giant defy 4

Postby jerrah » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:49 pm

I know someone with a Falco who loves it. He's had a few mechanical issues but I think that's purely coincidental.

Alternatively you could always get the Defy and then upgrade the components down the line?
Liking the ride of the frame is probably most important because it can't be easily changed but components can be upgraded. Pick the one you enjoy riding the most!

jamesd

Postby jamesd » Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:21 pm

Yeah that's what i was thinking..... the claris gears would be fine for me since im a noob coming from a hybrid with crappy shimano altus.......... thanks for the reply!

jerrah

Postby jerrah » Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:57 pm

jamesd wrote:Yeah that's what i was thinking.....
That said, I'd get the best groupset I could afford. Nothing like fighting a drivetrain to discourage you from riding!

AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby AUbicycles » Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:38 pm

Often the train of thought is to get the best frame and have the option to upgrade parts later, though only few would buy and upgrade a complete groupset.

On the groupset, do consider that if you look after it, then it will be better than a higher level groupset which is not maintained.
Cycling is in my BNA

HappyHumber

Postby HappyHumber » Sat Oct 17, 2015 12:09 am