Large man needs advice on purchasing a new bike

theo_umbrivides

Large man needs advice on purchasing a new bike

Postby theo_umbrivides » Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:19 am

Hello all,

I need advice on buying a new bike.

12 months ago I purchased an entry level hybrid bike for my commute (about 25 km per day). The bike's maximum load bearing capacity is 125kg, which I have since exceeded by about 5kg. Consequently, the bike is starting to wilt (read: fall apart) and needs to be replaced.

I'm a big guy. My measurements are as follows:

- Height: 6.7
- Weight: 130kg (I'm an amateur weightlifter and thrower that eats like horse, so my weight can get up to 135kg at times)

I need some general advice on the type of bike that will be able to handle my frame for 25km a day, 5 days a week. At my height and weight I'm not going to break any land speed records, so function and durability are what I'm after. I don't care if it's a road bike, a commuter bike, a mountain bike, a unicycle or a penny farthing, I just need something that's durable, reliable and going to get me to-and-from work safely.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Theo

brumby33

Re: Large man needs advice on purchasing a new bike

Postby brumby33 » Wed Jan 20, 2016 10:05 am

A good Steel touring bike such as the Vivente World Randoneur would be ideal but they aren't cheap but have good quality components that withstand fully loaded touring for thousands of kms. I'm a bit of a heavy weight too but the difference being most of my bulk is FAT...there...i've said it :oops: :lol:

Most Mountain bikes in the $1,000 region have good strong componentry too.....you might need to put on some road tyres if its mainly for road work.

Whatever you buy, and due to your bulk, you need to be fitted correctly othwise you may not enjoy it.

Good luck mate

Cheers

Dave
"ya gotta hold ya mouth right"

VWR Patagonia 2017
2003 Diamondback Sorrento Sport MTB

TonyMax

Postby TonyMax » Wed Jan 20, 2016 10:11 am