Power meter advice

SimonInVic

Power meter advice

Postby SimonInVic » Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:33 pm

Hi all, recently I have decided to bite the bullet and purchase myself a power meter. I am relatively new to road cycling but have taken to it extremely well. I am after some impartial advice regarding power meters. If anyone has any thoughts on them? I have been looking at the stages crank arm but am a little worried that sometime soon everything will fall into place and single sided power meters will be out of fashion. I am also pretty sure that I put more power through one leg than the other so could a single sided power meter make this even worse?

dalai47

Re: Power meter advice

Postby dalai47 » Mon Feb 01, 2016 7:36 pm

Plenty of information online in regards to power meters available.

As to one sided, bigger issue is that the difference is rarely symmetrical, so the balance is rarely consistent.

kb

Postby kb » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:05 pm

dalai47 wrote:Plenty of information online in regards to power meters available.
Some summaries

http://alex-cycle.blogspot.com.au/2013/ ... meter.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/10/buye ... ition.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
dalai47 wrote: As to one sided, bigger issue is that the difference is rarely symmetrical, so the balance is rarely consistent.
ie. Difference can varies across power and fatigue levels.

trailgumby

Postby trailgumby » Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:03 pm

kb wrote:
dalai47 wrote:Plenty of information online in regards to power meters available.
Some summaries

http://alex-cycle.blogspot.com.au/2013/ ... meter.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/10/buye ... ition.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
dalai47 wrote: As to one sided, bigger issue is that the difference is rarely symmetrical, so the balance is rarely consistent.