First road/commuting bike advice

skyrider

First road/commuting bike advice

Postby skyrider » Mon May 09, 2016 9:10 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Cycling Forums but would love some advice / opinions on purchasing my first bike. Budget around ~$1000 :)

Will be using it for riding around Melbourne wider city area, hoping to start riding to work (~6km one way). Definitely want disc breaks.

My current short list includes the following - I've taken each for a ride and can't decided between the Cross City or Allant. (Prices quoted) Any help would be great!

softy

Re: First road/commuting bike advice

Postby softy » Mon May 09, 2016 10:04 pm

looks like you are just under the sweet spot groupset shimano 105.

I would recommend a bike fitted with this groupset, as it is a good guide to where the bikes tip to the better quality but with reasonable costs.

The second is what type of riding you want to do. If it is riding around the city, a roadie, endurance or cyclocross. they are all variations of road bikes.
Roadies more race focused, endurance a comfy roadie, cyclocross for going anywhere.

The reason I would look more at these types of bikes is they are more all round bikes, unless you want to fit baskets and carry bags.

I would also suggest dropbars as they offer more grip positions when your hands get tired.

I realise this may be not what you have stated above, but the flat buy city bikes lock you into a one horse bike. with little variation if you get more serious.

Also with disc brakes, I rate the hydraulics, but would rather stick with callipers than mechanic discs which would probably be on the bikes in your price bracket.

just my 2 cents worth.

AlexHuggs

Postby AlexHuggs » Tue May 10, 2016 5:54 am

A dropbar bike will give you more hand positions and versatility, but everything becomes a compromise and in the end any quality bike will do the job. I imagine on this forum some of the guys faces would fall off at my setup for a 20km commute each way.