Upgrading my Avanti

Mattaxe

Upgrading my Avanti

Postby Mattaxe » Mon May 23, 2016 10:20 pm

Help please

I recently purchased an Avanti Cadence (spec below) I feel my fitness levels are good and I'm pushing my bike and myself to my limits but I need more. I'm new to bikes and I'm looking for help on how to improve the speed of the bike especially up hills. I'm guessing the height of my bike is a main factor. Having just bought the bike (3 months ago) I'm not going to change the frame, so what's next to change? Is it the wheels, if yes to what? Or the gears? Once again to what.

Sorry for the basic questions but I'm a novice on a bike.

Description
The Cadent has a lightweight carbon frame designed with endurance geometry, so you can push your ride that bit further. Ride on.
Frame : ADT R3 Carbon, Endurance Road Geometry, Universal component capability
Fork : ADT E3 Monocoque Carbon Integrated with 1.5-1 1/8" Steerer
Front Derailleur : Shimano Sora
Rear Derailleur : Shimano Sora
Shifters : Shimano Sora 18-Speed with Shimano Gear cables
Crankset : Shimano Sora Compact 50/34T
Brakes : Alloy Dual Pivot R312
Brake Levers : Shimano Sora
Wheelset / Rims : Alex AT470 Aero 32H
Hubs : Shimano Claris
Spokes : Stainless Steel
Cassette : Shimano HG50 11-30T 9-Speed
Handlebar : Zero Attack Pro-S 31.8mm
Handlebar Stem : Zero Attack Pro 31.8mm
Headset : Tapered Integrated Aheadset 1-1/8"- 1.5"
Grips : Zero Suede Micro Wrap
Pedals : Nil
Tyres : Kenda Kountach 700 x 25c Folding with Superlite Tubes
Saddle : Zero Zelix Sport
Seat Post : Zero Attack 27.2mm x 350mm
Bottom Bracket : Shimano SM-BB71 Press Fit
Chain : HG53

Calvin27

Re: Upgrading my Avanti

Postby Calvin27 » Tue May 24, 2016 9:16 am

In order of preference based on my own abitary criteria.

1. Tyres. Get soemthing that rolls nice. I prefer conti gps2 in 25c, but there are other equivalents too. This is a cheap upgrade and makes a noticable difference. Spend: $100 a set