Would this group fit the aldis bike
Or
Buy a used cell frame and fit to it
Thanks in advance
Greg

Arbuckle23

Re: Aldis bike

Postby Arbuckle23 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:10 pm

I have an Aldi bike, although it is my backup nowadays. Done 3000 km on it without issue.
I did convert it to Durace 7800 later on, but I scored that for free and could fit it myself for no cost.
So you can convert to 10 speed group, or 11 if you change wheels if you wish, but probably best to ride it like it is and upgrade to a better bike later if you wish. You would be over capitalising

Great beginners bike, just ride it with the Claris, it works well.

ironhanglider

Postby ironhanglider » Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:11 pm

I'm going to hit 9,000km on my Aldi bike tomorrow, and I'm no beginner.

Mine is my primary bike, and fitted with a rack, mudguards and hub dynamo lights it is a very useful bike.

I think a lot depends on whether you perceive the bike as a tool, or sporting equipment. At $400 new they were fantastic value for money.

There's no immediate need to upgrade the groupset unless you have a particular reason to.

The changes I have made:
I put spd pedals on, to suit my commuting shoes. I put 10spd shifters (and cassette) on, because I have other 10spd bikes and consistency means easy spares/replacements. I replaced the FD at 8,000km because it broke. I had to rebuild the rear wheel at 2,500km because I was breaking spokes. I also replaced the saddle because I didn't like it. I have also replaced the usual stuff that wears out, chains, tyres and brake pads.

Cheers,

Cameron

Big daddy

Postby Big daddy » Thu Jun 08, 2017 6:13 am

Thanks Cameron and artbuckle
I have texted the bloke a message to look at it and am waiting for a response

Greg

AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby AUbicycles » Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:21 pm