Anyone have opinions/ experiences with the Merida Speeder series?

vbean108

Anyone have opinions/ experiences with the Merida Speeder series?

Postby vbean108 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:50 pm

Hi,
I am looking for a commuter bike and visited my local 99bikes store yesterday. The salesperson recommended the Merida Speeder 100. It seems pretty good but I am fairly new to cycling and haven't heard much about it online. Does anyone have any experiences with the speeder series? I am also looking at rhe Trek Fx2 or Fx3 so which would be a better pick between these three?

Thanks in advance!

Usernoname

Re: Anyone have opinions/ experiences with the Merida Speeder series?

Postby Usernoname » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:06 am

I'd check out the Trek Fx 3 and Specialized Sirrus Sport along with the Merida. You may be able to get a deal on 2017 bikes atm. Stick with disc brakes if you have hills and or planning on riding in all conditions (rain). Bike shop sales staff will generally try and sell you what they have in stock which may not be the best for you. Try a few stores and sizing if you can and make up your own mind - don't trust the salesperson to give you advice, although there are some good ones.
And personally I prefer a flat bar roadie for commuting like you are looking at rather than a drop bar - feel so much safer in traffic.
Aus motorists are safe to kill a cyclist at any time & confident that they will be protected from any serious penalties.

amy

Postby amy » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:36 pm

Same situation for me as well.

confused between Merida speeder 100 2018 and Giant City Cross 1 Disc 2018

NewStew

Postby NewStew » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:04 am

Check out Polygon at bicyclesonline - I have one of their dropbar bikes for commuting and it is pretty good and amazing for the price. I feel you will get a lot more bang for your buck than with a merida or giant.

strom3233

Postby strom3233 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:15 pm