Upgrade my current bike or buy a totally new bike?

Nobody'sbikehacks

Upgrade my current bike or buy a totally new bike?

Postby Nobody'sbikehacks » Wed May 02, 2018 9:37 pm

I am new to mountain biking and want to hit the trails asap. Currently, I am using an Apollo Aspire 10 (with front and back disk brakes, shimano drivetrain, sr suntour 80mm travel suspension) that I got as a hand-me down from my older brother. I am not sure if I should buy a totally new entry-level hardtail trail bike (please list any recommendations) or just upgrade the components on the Aspire 10 since I got it for free.

10speedsemiracer

Re: Upgrade my current bike or buy a totally new bike?

Postby 10speedsemiracer » Wed May 02, 2018 10:36 pm

How about, stay with me here, give it a refurb with new tyres to suit the environment you'll be riding in, all new cables, new brake pads, service the headset and hubs and save up for something more substantial and focused.

Reason I say this is that the Apollo is an entry level bike, a nice one though, however throwing large amounts of $s at it doesn't make a lot of sense. The fork is probably the limiting factor, but replacing with something more serious instantly throws the $ equation out the window.

Ride it around, develop your skills and enjoy the bike, and maybe spend a couple of K on a duallie Giant/Scott/Specialized/Trek/Marin/Kona down the track.
Campagnolo for show, SunTour for go

Duck!
Expert

Postby Duck! » Wed May 02, 2018 11:20 pm