Are cheap bikes like Reid a trap?

duckfoot

Are cheap bikes like Reid a trap?

Postby duckfoot » Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:44 pm

I just started riding again a fortnight ago on a cheap second hand bike: $100. But after getting into cycling more seriously and coming off the bike a few times due to steering feeling 'wobbly or loose' and the breaks being hit and miss, I have decided to upgrade. My friend who rides with me bought a Reid mountain bike with the super fat tyres and swears that more expensive bikes aren't any better.

If there is no comparison between Reid and more expensive brands like Giant, then i'm willing to pay more. That being said I wont be racing or entering competitions so a few grand is probably the upper limit . Been riding 10-20km every few days on bike paths and occasionally off road on dirt tracks and I usually average around 16km/h :oops:. I have been leaning towards mountain bikes because of the off road travels.

Any suggestions or input would be welcomed. I am browsing the forums, other websites and looking at articles as we speak to learn as much as I can before making a purchase. I know there's a ton of answers out there but wanted to get a feel for the current consensus.

ldrcycles

Re: Are cheap bikes like Reid a trap?

Postby ldrcycles » Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:15 am

The very cheapest Reids (like the Condor) are very basic sure, but still usable. Go just a little higher up in price and you're looking at some pretty nice machines.