Audax - how to get started?

Dreama

Audax - how to get started?

Postby Dreama » Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:10 pm

Hi all,
ive been cycling for a couple of years now and recently come across the idea of Audaxing / Randonneuring - and its seems like something i would like to work towards. The longest ride i did last years 185kms, I'm no where near that this summer... but we are getting back into it.

Im in South Aus, so wondering how / where to get started? any intro groups?
Can you use any bike? i have a Specialized Tarmac (10+years old), which needs a bit of work at the mo.

Any pointers?

thanks
Turning the pedals - just getting back on the bike

find_bruce

Re: Audax - how to get started?

Postby find_bruce » Sat Feb 08, 2020 8:20 am

I found the people from Audax in NSW to be very welcoming & I expect SA to be similar.

Easiest way to start to the Audax calendar - filter it to the SA region & pick an upcoming event that appeals to you - you don't have to start with 200km, they will often have 100km or 150km loops as well. Contact the organiser

In terms of bikes, Audax are ambivalent to the type of bike you ride, whether its a race weapon, recumbent or whatever, as long as its only driven by human power. I would strongly recommend against a 10yo bike that needs a bit of work. A 10yo bike that has recently had a bit of work however will be just fine.

The other thing to consider is that Audax is enthusiastic about making riders as safe as possible and their equipment recommnedations emphasise lighting & back-up as well as retro-reflective.
Anything you can do, I can do slower

queequeg

Postby queequeg » Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:42 pm

I’ve recently started up with Audax again after some time off the bike.