Route - Bayside to the Alfred

CaroW

Route - Bayside to the Alfred

Postby CaroW » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:28 pm

Hi, I'm new to commuter cycling thanks to COVID-19 and wanting to avoid public transport.
I was browsing the forum to see if anyone had a solution/alternative they used to get through St. Kilda Junction as I was almost taken out by a twin cab in the same spot only a few days after this tragic accident.
I had wrongly assumed that vehicle traffic at commute times would be accustomed to cyclists.
I would be greatful if anyone has a solution for the Junction, now more than ever after learning about this.
I'm travelling from Bayside to the Alfred.
Thanks!

ironhanglider

Re: 2020 Cycling Fatalities

Postby ironhanglider » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:31 pm

CaroW wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:28 pm
Hi, I'm new to commuter cycling thanks to COVID-19 and wanting to avoid public transport.
I was browsing the forum to see if anyone had a solution/alternative they used to get through St. Kilda Junction as I was almost taken out by a twin cab in the same spot only a few days after this tragic accident.
I had wrongly assumed that vehicle traffic at commute times would be accustomed to cyclists.
I would be greatful if anyone has a solution for the Junction, now more than ever after learning about this.
Thanks!
Hi CaroW, welcome to the forum.

I suspect that like many new commuters you have planned your route like you would for a car journey. The back roads are usually a more pleasant way to travel.

I've not ridden that area much in peak times recently, but have some ideas about Windsor/Prahran.

I'd suggest looking to cross Dandenong Rd by using the Upton Rd bridge, then Raleigh, George, (Chapel), Donald/Alfred, to Greville St to get to the Punt Road entrance or straight up to Commercial Rd.

To get to that point I'm a bit more vague, the lower part of Chapel St is ok and Crimea St is a good link between Alma Rd and Wellington St.