Guidance for Sydney to Brisbane Bicycle Trip

sachinik19

Guidance for Sydney to Brisbane Bicycle Trip

Postby sachinik19 » Mon Jan 15, 2024 1:10 am

Hello fellow adventurers!

I'm reaching out to the community for some valuable guidance as I embark on my bicycle journey from Sydney to Brisbane, commencing on the 19th of January 2024. This is my first time exploring the beautiful landscapes of Australia, and I'm eager to tour some parts by bicycle, which I love the most. Below are the details of my plan, and I'd appreciate any suggestions or insights you might have:

About Me:
a. From India, with previous bicycle trips exceeding 1000 km in India and Vietnam.
b. Comfortable riding 80-100 km a day.
c. I'll be riding Brompton 6 gears

Camping Gear:
a. Kathmandu Mono 1 tent
b. Naturehike FC10 mattress
c. Naturehike LW180 XL sleeping bag

Camping Plan:
a. First-time camper; open to advise on camping in Australia.
b. Planning to eat all meals in the restaurant, also keeping some nutrition bars as a backup.
c. Carrying 3 liters of water, replenishing whenever possible.
4. Not booking campsites in advance due to potential changes.

Tentative Daywise Route:
1. Gosford (or The Entrance)
2. Newcastle (or Williamtown)
3. Hawk's Nest (or Bulahdelah)
4. Tuncurry
5. Port Macquarie
6. Kempsey
7. Coffs Harbour
8. Grafton
9. Evans Head
10. Byron Bay
11. Gold Coast
12. Brisbane

Seeking Suggestions:
a. Any recommended stops or detours along the route?
b. Camping tips for a newcomer in Australia?
c. Ideal places for water replenishment?
d. Safety concerns or precautions specific to the route?

I'd greatly appreciate your insights and recommendations to ensure a smooth and enjoyable journey. Looking forward to your valuable input!

Regards,
Sachin

WheelsOfChance

Re: Guidance for Sydney to Brisbane Bicycle Trip

Postby WheelsOfChance » Mon Jan 15, 2024 12:27 pm